Laura Sharman 03 March 2015

Tudor Evans scoops council leader of the year award

Tudor Evans scoops council leader of the year award image

The winners of the 2015 C’lrr Award have been announced, with Tudor Evans from Plymouth City Council securing Leader of the Year Award.

Cllr Jason Kitcat from Brighton & Hove City Council was also recognised for his contribution to local government, with Cllr Lyle Davy from Pendle Borough Council winning Young Councillor of the Year.

The annual awards, organised by the LGiU and CCLA, aim to reward the hard work and dedication of councillors across the country.

Jonathan Carr-West, chief executive of the LGiU, said: ‘It is a real privilege to honour the outstanding efforts of these Councillors who work day in and day out to make our communities healthier, our streets safer and our public services stronger.

‘The 2015 C’llr Award winners have set the bar for all Councillors with their exemplary leadership and passion for change. We congratulate them and look forward to hearing about their future success.’

The full list of winners are:

Young Councillor of the Year Award - Cllr Lyle Davy, Pendle Borough Council
Leader of the Year Award - Cllr Tudor Evans, Plymouth City Council
Innovation Achievement of the Year Award - Cllr Val Gibson, Wolverhampton City Council
Judges’ Special Award for Contribution to Local Government - Cllr Jason Kitcat, Brighton & Hove City Council
Wellbeing Champion of the Year - Cllr Ellie Robinson, London Borough of Newham
Community Champion of the Year Award - Cllr Jackie Meldrum, London Borough of Lambeth
CCLA Local Growth Achievement of the Year - Cllr Kevin Bentley, Essex County Council
Partnership Achievement of the Year Award - Cllr Darren Clifford, Lancashire County Council
DCLG Neighbourhood Planner of the Year - Cllr Gordon Nicolson OBE, Eden District Council
Bruce-Lockhart Membership Scholarship - Cllr Theo Blackwell, London Borough of Camden

Highways jobs

Change Lead, Adult Social Care & Health

London Borough of Bexley
£41,205 - £48,069
We are currently seeking an experienced Change Lead to work on our Adult Social Care Services’ transformation programme. Bexleyheath, London (Greater)
Recuriter: London Borough of Bexley

Deputy Team Manager

Brent Council
£41,847 - £44,691 p.a. inc.
An exciting opportunity has arisen in the Hospital Discharge Team (HDT) for an experienced Social Worker. Wembley, London (Greater)
Recuriter: Brent Council

Highways Estimator

Competitive Salary
As the Highways Estimator you will join a busy environment and become an integral part of the team. Hounslow (London Borough), London (Greater)
Recuriter: Ringway

Joint Strategic Director of Commissioning 

West Sussex County Council
circa £130,000 per annum
The post holder will be able to demonstrate an understanding and embrace the opportunity to address the health... West Sussex
Recuriter: West Sussex County Council

Head of Lifelong Services

West Sussex County Council
up to £85,000 per annum
The Head of Lifelong Services will lead and deliver a new, co-produced, integrated and whole life approach and service working with people... West Sussex
Recuriter: West Sussex County Council

Local Government News

Latest issue - Local Goverrnemnt News

The December issue of Local Government News looks at the consequences a council may face if it is unable to provide statutory services, the launch of Liverpool’s housing company and how councils can best manage roles in local authority companies.

It also has a special section on green building and energy efficiency including what funding is available to enable councils to deliver heat networks and how councils can pay for ‘smart buildings’.

Register for your free magazine