Laura Sharman 08 November 2017

Councillors of the year are unveiled

Councillors of the year are unveiled image

Cllr Peter Fleming of Sevenoaks District Council has been named as leader of the year in the 2017 C’llr Achievement Awards.

Organised by the LGiU and CCLA, the awards aim to honour the work of councillors across the country.

Young Councillor of the Year was awarded to cllr Lauren Mitchell of Ashfield Council, while cllr Mohammed Amran of Bradford City Council was honoured with the Community Champion Award.

Jonathan Carr-West, chief executive of the LGiU said: 'Year after year we take the time to honour the dedicated work of councillors from across the country because so often it goes unrecognised.

'Despite ever tightening budgets, councils continue to ensure that essential services are delivered on the ground, day after day. They play a crucial role in keeping our communities connected, and safe. Celebrating their achievements is more important than ever.'

Full list of winners:

Leader of the Year - Cllr Peter Fleming OBE, Sevenoaks District Council. Cllr Darren Rodwell, London Borough of Barking & Dagenham Council (Honourable mention)

Community Champion - Cllr Mohammed Amran, Bradford City Council

Young Councillor of the Year - Cllr Lauren Mitchell, Ashfield Council

iESE’s Finance and Transformation Award - Cllr Chris Ready, Wigan Council

Health and Care Award - Cllr Susan Little, Thurrock Council. Cllr Maureen Worby, London Borough of Barking & Dagenham Council (Honourable mention)

Technology and Digital Award - Cllr John Chilver, Buckinghamshire County Council

Place-shaping and Environment Award - Cllr Alan Clark, Nottingham City Council (In Memoriam)

LEPs: A year like no other image

LEPs: A year like no other

Alun Rogers, chair of Stoke and Staffordshire LEP, on the 2020-2021 annual review and his hopes for the future of the LEP.
Supporting young victims of domestic abuse image

Supporting young victims of domestic abuse

Steph Waddell says it’s time for a serious long-term commitment from government to improve understanding of what works in supporting children affected by domestic abuse.
For your free daily news bulletin
Highways jobs

Senior infrastructure engineer

Royal Borough of Greenwich
£45.834 - £56.141
You’ll lead the building, testing and monitoring new and existing services both on-prem and in the cloud. Greenwich, London (Greater)
Recuriter: Royal Borough of Greenwich

Infrastructure engineer

Royal Borough of Greenwich
£37.772 - £46.999
This is a great role in a vibrant and growing team; we’re looking for people who have some experience in infrastructure engineering... Greenwich, London (Greater)
Recuriter: Royal Borough of Greenwich

Solutions Architect

Essex County Council
Solutions ArchitectPermanent, Full TimeCompetitive SalaryLocation
Recuriter: Essex County Council

Head of Growth, Investment and Tourism – Dover District Council

Dover District Council
Competitive Salary
In this role, you will find significant and nationally important physical, economic and cultural assets with the capacity to... Dover, Kent
Recuriter: Dover District Council

Monitoring Officer / Assistant Director Legal, Registration & Electoral Services

Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council
£90,205 per annum         
This is an exciting time to join Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council and an opportunity to make a real difference. Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Recuriter: Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council

Public Property

Latest issue - Public Property News

This issue of Public Property examines how how flexible workspaces can lead the way in regeneration for local authorities, Why local authority intervention is key to successful urban regeneration schemes and if the Government’s challenge of embracing beauty is an opportunity for communities.

The March issue also takes a closer look at Blackburn with Darwen Council's first digital health hub to help people gain control over health and care services.

Register for your free digital issue