William Eichler 23 September 2019

Minister confirms creation of Northamptonshire unitary authorities

Minister confirms creation of Northamptonshire unitary authorities image

The Government has confirmed that the legislation allowing for the creation of two unitary authorities in Northamptonshire will be in Parliament this autumn.

The eight existing councils in the county will be dissolved and replaced by two new councils, one for North Northamptonshire and one for West Northamptonshire.

The former local government secretary James Brokenshire had originally envisaged the new councils being fully operational from 1 April 2020 but it was announced in May that they would not be established until April 2021.

A joint statement from the leaders of the eight councils due to be abolished said at the time the delay ‘gives us more time to plan carefully and confidently for the future’.

The minister for local government Luke Hall wrote to these leaders at the end of last week to confirm that the legislation necessary to establish the two new councils would be in Parliament ‘as soon as practicable’ in autumn.

The May 2020 elections in Northamptonshire would be elections to the shadow unitary authorities. Those elected would start council work on 1 April 2021.

For your free daily news bulletin

Public Property

Latest issue - Public Property News

This issue of Public Property examines how how flexible workspaces can lead the way in regeneration for local authorities, Why local authority intervention is key to successful urban regeneration schemes and if the Government’s challenge of embracing beauty is an opportunity for communities.

The March issue also takes a closer look at Blackburn with Darwen Council's first digital health hub to help people gain control over health and care services.

Register for your free digital issue